Six green campus efforts earn 2017 Sustainability Awards

Sustainability trophies

Individuals whose contributions have deepened the UO’s culture of sustainability across a range of institutional activities were recently honored with the 2017 University of Oregon Sustainability Awards.

The Campus Design Award, for a project sponsor who has demonstrated leadership, excellence and creativity in implementing the Oregon Model for Sustainable Development, went to the Division of Student Life.

The Student Leadership Award, given to a current undergraduate student with a minimum GPA of 3.0 who has implemented projects, generated awareness or created new initiatives promoting sustainability, went to Nicole Zavoshy, who is majoring in biology.

The Town and Gown Award, presented to individuals or groups for projects that promote, educate or enhance a more sustainable community, went to the Sustainable City Year Program, which partners UO students with an Oregon city each year to provide assistance with the city’s sustainability goals.

The Athletics Award, for an individual or team committed to enhancing and advancing sustainability within athletics, went to Ray Widmar, the custodial maintenance coordinator in the UO’s athletics department.

The Excellence in Teaching Award, for instructors who creatively integrate sustainable principles into their curriculum and inspire student engagement, went to Stephen Wooten, professor of international studies and director of the UO Food Studies Program.

The Campus Operations Award, which goes to an outstanding individual or team whose contributions have improved the sustainability of day-to-day operations at the UO, went to Mike Eldrege and Adam Jones of Safety and Risk Services and Mo Soleimani and Alex Koleber of Campus Planning and Facilities Management.

For more information, videos about each the recipients and their awards can be found on the Campus Planning and Facilities Management website.