Reception honors latest faculty excellence winners

Thirteen UO faculty members have been selected as recipients of the 2014-15 Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards.

Recipients will receive a $20,000 salary stipend or $25,000 for research. A reception for the award winners was held at the Ford Alumni Center in the Susie and Randy Papé Hearth Foyer on Thursday, Oct. 30.

The award was established through a gift by philanthropist Lorry Lokey in 2006 to support and recognize tenured faculty in their research. Awards are given to faculty for the quality of their work, the impact on their program and academic leadership. 

This year’s award recipients are: Anya Kivarkis, art; Amy Lobben, geography; Andrew H. Marcus, chemistry; Richard Margerum, planning, public policy and management; Sharon Paul, vocal and choral studies; Jeremy Piger, economics; Elizabeth Reis, women’s and gender studies; Gordon Sayre, English; Eric Selker, biology; Lynn Stephen, anthropology; Elizabeth Stormshak, counseling psychology; Laura Vandenburgh, art; and Edward Vogel, psychology.

The award is designed to give a meaningful boost to the UO’s efforts to improve its academic quality and reputation. By supporting, recognizing and retaining top-notch faculty, the university is able to maintain and grow its academic programs.

Acting UO Provost Frances Bronet also thanked the members of the committee that reviewed nominations and recommended the winners.  Committee members were Karen Guillemin, biology; Alison Kwok, architecture; Tom Lininger, law; Massimo Lollini, romance languages; and Chair Laura Lee McIntyre, school psychology.

For more information, contact Sonja Runberg in the Office of Academic Affairs.

—By Corinne Boyer, Public Affairs Communications intern