Yong Zhao
January 8

Yong Zhao named to list of most influential education scholars

Zhao ranks No. 9 on the list prepared annually by the publication Education Week.
January 5

UO in top 25 in economics master's degree programs

The University of Oregon has been ranked 23rd on a list of the top U.S. master's degree programs in economics by The Financial Engineer.
Marcus Mariota was the center of attention after the game.
January 1

Ducks win, headed to national title game

Won. Not done. With a 59-20 win over Florida State, the Ducks advanced to the College Football Playoff championship game, set for Jan. 12 in Arlington, Texas.
December 22

Education development grant awarded to UO’s STEM CORE

The $810,000 grant will allow the UO to help area school districts improve classroom instruction in high-tech subjects
December 18

Roesler makes history, wins The Bowerman Trophy

The NCAA indoor and outdoor 800-meter champion was awarded collegiate track and field’s most prestigious honor, The Bowerman Trophy.
Andrew H. Marcus
December 16

Two UO scientists named fellows of American Physical Society

Andy Marcus and Robert Schofield are chosen, respectively, for their advances in spectroscopy and measurement of far-away gravitational waves.
December 13

Mariota wins the day, takes home Oregon's first Heisman

The UO's star quarterback succeeds in his usual fashion, winning college football's most prestigious award by a wide margin
From left: Dustin Haines, Steve Stolp, Marcus Mariota
December 12

Mariota gets the award he came back for: A college degree

Mariota earns bachelor’s degree in three years and one term, while setting numerous UO football records
December 8

Ducks will face Florida State in semifinals at Rose Bowl

Pac-12 champion Oregon received the No. 2 seed into the inaugural College Football Playoff and will face the No. 3 Seminoles on Jan. 1
December 4

Presidential Chair Geri Richmond to serve as U.S. science envoy

As one of four science envoys, Richmond will help build research collaborations with nations in Southeast Asia