CAS dean honors award recipients

CAS Dean Scott Coltrane at awards ceremony (photo by Dean Walton)
CAS Dean Scott Coltrane at awards ceremony (photo by Dean Walton)

Sixty-two faculty members who received a total of 53 research, teaching or mentorship awards were honored by Dean Scott Coltrane of the UO's College of Arts and Sciences at this year's annual reception to celebrate faculty awards. Six faculty members received multiple awards.

At the recent reception in Gerlinger Lounge, Coltrane highlighted three awards in particular:

  • Eric Selker, professor biology, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences – one of only 84 new members elected this year.

"Members are elected to the Academy in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research," said Coltrane, adding that this is "one of the highest honors a scientist can receive."

  • The Atlas of Yellowstone was recognized for Excellence in Physical Sciences and Mathematics from the American Publishers Association's PROSE (Professional and Scholarly Excellence) Awards. The Atlas project was led at the UO by Andrew Marcus, associate dean of social sciences and professor of geography, and James Meacham, a senior research associate and director and co-founder of the university’s InfoGraphics Lab. Alethea Steingisser of the InfoGraphics Lab managed the book’s production.

Coltrane noted that Marcus also received another honor this past year, when he was named as a fellow of the American Geological Society of America.

  • Peter Von Hippel, professor chemistry, was presented the Biophysical Society’s Founders Award at its annual meeting in Philadelphia earlier this month. The award is given annually to recognize outstanding achievement in any area of biophysics.

The complete list of honorees includes:


Gerald Berk, Political Science
Research Fellowship
National Endowment for the Humanities
Bruce Bowerman, Biology
AAAS Fellow
American Association for the Advancement of Science
Scott Bridgham, Biology and Environmental Studies
Society of Wetland Scientists
Kirby Brown, English
Don D. Walker Prize
Western American Literature
Trudy Ann Cameron, Economics
Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
Eric Corwin, Physics
National Science Foundation
Matthew Dennis, History and Environmental Studies
Massachusetts Historical Society Fellowship
National Endowment for the Humanities
Philip Fisher, Psychology
Translational Science Award
Society for Prevention Science
Jeff Gilbert, Human Physiology
New Investigator Award
Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis Section of the
American Physiological Society
Lisa Gilman, English
David Li, English
Fulbright Fellowship
Fulbright Program
Jim Isenberg, Mathematics
Eisenbud Professorship
Mathematics Sciences Research Institute
David Johnson, Chemistry
Mercator Fellow
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Shih-Yuan Liu, Chemistry
Early Excellence Award
Journal of Physical Organic Chemistry
Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc.
Charles Curtis, Mathematics
Peter Gilkey, Mathematics
William Kantor, Mathematics
Huaxin Lin, Mathematics
Eugene Luks, Computer and Information Science
Gary Seitz, Mathematics
Lewis Ward, Mathematics
American Mathematical Society
Andrew Marcus, CAS Dean’s Office and Geography
Geological Society of America
Andrew Marcus, CAS Dean’s Office and Geography
Jim Meacham, Geography
Alethea Steingisser, Geography
PROSE Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences
and Mathematics
PROSE Award for Earth Sciences
Association of American Publishers
Karen McPherson, Romance Languages
Quebec Faculty Research Award
Ministère des relations internationales du Québec  
Helen Neville, Psychology
Distinguished Cognitive Scientist Award
University of California, Merced
William James Fellow Award
Association for Psychological Science
Cristopher Niell, Biology 
Searle Scholar
Searle Scholars Program
New Innovator Award
National Institutes of Health
Geri Richmond, Chemistry
U.S. National Science Board
Charles Lathrop Parsons Award
American Chemical Society
Davisson-Germer Prize in Surface or Atomic Physics
American Physical Society
Eric Selker, Biology
NAS Fellow
National Academy of Sciences
Stephen Shoemaker, Religious Studies
Senior Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Studies
Central European University
Josh Snodgrass, Anthropology
Michael A. Little Early Career Award
Human Biology Association
Carol Stabile, English and Center for the Study of Women in Society
Farrar Award in Media and Civil Rights History
School of Journalism and Mass Communications, University of South Carolina
Lynn Stephen, Anthropology
Visiting Fellow
Center for U.S.-Mexican Studies
University of California, San Diego
Fellowship as Visiting Distinguished Professor to the
National Autonomous University of Mexico
Mexican Academy of Sciences
Cynthia Vakareliyska, Linguistics
Bulgarian Studies Award
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
David Vázquez, English
Residential Research Fellowship
Arizona State University Institute for Humanities Research
Peter von Hippel, Chemistry
Founders Award
Biophysical Society
Anita Weiss, International Studies
Bellagio Center Residency (Italy)
Rockefeller Foundation
Mary Wood, English
Summer Research Award
National Endowment for the Humanities


Alexander Kleshchev, Mathematics
Richard A. Bray Faculty Fellow
University of Oregon
Steven Shankman, English
Provost’s Senior Humanist Research Fellowship
Oregon Humanities Center
Xiaobo Su, Geography
Summer Research Award
University of Oregon
Courtney Thorsson, English
Faculty Research Award
Center for the Study of Women in Society
David Vázquez, English
Faculty Research Fellowship
Oregon Humanities Center
Gantt Gurley, German & Scandinavian Studies
Katharina Loew, German & Scandinavian Studies
Dorothee Ostmeier, German & Scandinavian Studies
Michael Stern, German & Scandinavian Studies
Faculty Research Award
Oregon Humanities Center
Patrick Bartlein, Geography
Darren Johnson, Chemistry
Andrew Lovering, Human Physiology
Allen Malony, Computer and Information Science
Melissa Redford, Linguistics
Josh Roering, Geological Sciences and Environmental Studies
Josh Snodgrass, Anthropology
Ted Toadvine, Philosophy and Environmental Studies
Fund for Faculty Excellence Award
University of Oregon


Stanley Micklavzina, Physics
Homer L. Dodge Distinguished Service Award
American Association of Physics Teachers


Alexander Murphy, Geography
Paul Peppis, English
Thomas F. Herman Award
University of Oregon
Ben Saunders, English
Teaching Fellowship
Sherl K. Coleman and Margaret E. Guitteau Teaching Professorship in the Humanities
Oregon Humanities Center
Josh Snodgrass, Anthropology
Williams Fellow
University of Oregon


Jennifer Freyd, Psychology
Excellence Award for Outstanding Mentorship in Graduate Studies
University of Oregon Graduate School
Christopher Minson, Human Physiology
Mentor Award
Medical Research Foundation, Oregon Health and Sciences University Foundation