Duo blocks logins from countries on US sanctions list

Duo no longer permits logins from federally sanctioned countries and regions.

On May 5, Duo, which the University of Oregon uses for two-step login, began blocking all logins from devices in countries and regions subject to economic and trade sanctions enforced by the U.S. Office of Foreign Assets Control. Those locations are Cuba, North Korea, Iran, Sudan, Syria and the Crimea, Sevastopol, Donetsk and Luhansk regions.

People who try to log in to Duo-protected services from those locations will be blocked from completing their logins and will receive an error message.

That means UO community members in the above countries and regions are now unable to use Duo-protected UO services, including UOmail, Office 365, Zoom, Canvas and others. Due to U.S. export control regulations, there are no recommended alternatives or workarounds.

Relatedly, Zoom has already begun restricting access to its service from some countries and regions in the above list.

The UO Service Portal provides more information about using Duo internationally and using Zoom internationally

Those with questions can contact the IT staff who support their unit or the Technology Service Desk.