Employee awards, honors and accolades for winter term 2019

May 30 – Erica Daley, associate dean of finance and operations for UO School of Law, was among 14 higher education business leaders invited to join the 2019-20 Fellows Program from The National Association of College and University Business Officers.

March 26 – Geography professor Amy Lobben has been elected as president of the American Association of Geographers. Founded in 1904, AAG is the largest geography organization in the world with members from nearly 100 countries. Lobben's vice president term begins July 1, 2019, with her term as president starting on July 1, 2020.

March 21 – Priscilla Peña Ovalle, associate professor and department head in the Department of Cinema Studies, has been chosen as the 2019 president-elect for the Society for Cinema and Media Studies. SCMS seeks to further media study within higher education and serves as a resource.

March 21 — Tricia Rodley, an instructor for the University of Oregon’s Department of Theatre Arts, received a Horace Robinson/Jack Watson Award during the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival Region VII awards reception in February. The award is recognizes Rodley for her exceptional dedication and support for her students.

March 11 – Ernesto Javier Martínez, associate professor of ethnic studies, was awarded an artist grant by the National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures, for his “Femeniños” project. The project includes the children’s book, “When We Love Someone We Sing to Them,” and short film series about the experiences of queer Latinx boys and their families.

March 5 – David Johnson, Rosaria P. Haugland Foundation Chair in Pure and Applied Chemistry, is a recipient of the Humboldt Research Award, which recognizes his entire academic record. As part of the award, the Humboldt Foundations encourages winners to work on research projects with colleagues in Germany.

Jan. 28 – Woan Foong Wong, assistant professor of economics, was awarded The Sundaran Memorial Prize for Young Malaysian Researchers 2018-19 from the World Bank Research Hub in Kuala Lumpur. In addition to receiving the award for the paper, “The Round Trip Effect: Endogenous Transport Costs and International Trade,” she will have the opportunities to be a visiting research fellow in Malaysia.  

Jan. 22 – Physics instructor Stanley Micklavzina was named an honorary doctor in science at Lund University in Sweden. His collaborations with Lund include helping to develop the exhibition “Shoot protons and tickle electrons,” which is currently on display at the university.

Jan. 15 – Two business law faculty members have been named visiting fellows at the University of Oxford. Andrea Coles-Bjerre, associate professor and faculty director of the Business Law Program, and Carl Bjerre, professor of business law, will be visiting fellows at the Commercial Law Centre from January to March.

Jan. 7 – Linda Price, Lundquist College of Business Phillip H. Knight Chair and professor of marketing, was named an Association of Consumer Research Fellow and American Marketing Association Fellow in 2018. Only nine scholars have ever earned both honors, and she is the first person to receive both awards in the same year.

Jan. 4 – Sharon Luk, assistant professor of ethnic studies, has earned the Matei Calinescu Prize for her book, “The Life of Paper: Letters and Poetics of Living Beyond Capacity.” The award is given by the Modern Language Association, which works to strengthen the study and teaching of languages and literature.

Jan. 3 – Alan Meyer, professor emeritus of management, was recognized by the Academy of Management with a 2018 Organization and Management Theory Distinguished Scholar Award. The award to scholars whose contributions have been central to the intellectual development of the field of organization studies.

Each term Around the O Workplace will recognize awards, honors and other professional recognition of University of Oregon faculty, staff, and graduate employees. Submissions should be brief and include a link to the award website.