Finalists for five dean and VP positions coming to campus

The University of Oregon will begin bringing finalist candidates for five key academic leadership positions to campus starting in March.

Provost Scott Coltrane is leading the search process for deans in the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Architecture and Allied Arts, the School of Journalism and Communication and the Lundquist College of Business, as well as the search for the new vice president for research and innovation.

Coltrane says these leadership hires will help shape the future of the institution and support the UO’s academic aspirations.

“I am encouraged by the interest in these positions from gifted leaders across the country,” Coltrane said. “This is a turning point in executive leadership at the University of Oregon. We are setting the future course of academic excellence for decades to come.”

Members of the campus community will be invited to meet with each of the finalists during two-day campus visits in March and early April. Candidates will meet with constituent groups in their respective schools, colleges or units and with executive academic leadership.

Each candidate will also make presentations to the campus community and take questions in an open forum. Details on the candidates and their campus schedules will be released in advance of each visit on Around the O and on the provost’s website.

The search committees for each dean and vice president search consist of faculty, officers of administration and staff from each school, college or unit. The dean search committees also include a member of the school or college’s advisory board. Each committee has partnered with a national search firm to ensure a broad and diverse search resulting in exemplary candidates.

More details, including information about each position, committee and search firm is available on the provost’s website.

A search for a new dean for the School of Law is in the planning stage. Current Dean Michael Moffitt last week announced his intention to step down from the post in 2017.