Five faculty members among those receiving Research Excellence Awards

Research Excellence Awards

Recipients of this year’s Distinguished Teaching Awards and Research Excellence Awards will be honored at a special gathering this Thursday, May 28.

The awards ceremony starts at 5 p.m. in the Great Room of the Global Scholars Hall at 1720 E. 15th Ave. It is co-hosted by the Office of Academic Affairs and the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.

Read more about the Distinguished Teaching Awards here.

The Research Excellence Awards celebrate the significant impact of UO faculty members engaged in research and scholarly activity. This year five faculty members, a research team and a startup company are being recognized for their excellence in research within four award categories.

2015 Outstanding Career Award

Awarded to tenured faculty members at the associate or full professor rank with a history of distinguished scholarship.

Sandra Morgen, Anthropology
A professor in the Department of Anthropology, Morgen has conducted more than 40 years of distinguished research focused on the intersections of gender, race and class in U.S. public policy.

Michael Raymer, Physics
A professor in the Department of Physics, Raymer conducts research that encompasses areas of quantum information, quantum optics, quantum control, semi-conductor optical physics and nonlinear optics.

2015 Outstanding Early Career Award

Granted to two tenure-track faculty members at the assistant professor rank who have a track record of significant scholarship and emergent recognition.

Hank Childs, Computer and Information
An assistant professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences, Childs conducts research enabling scientific visualization of huge data sets.

Christopher Chávez, School of Journalism and Communication
An assistant professor of advertising in the School of Journalism and Communication, Chávez conducts research and teaching that lies at the intersection of globalization, media and culture.

2015 Outstanding Independent Researcher Award

Awarded to a non-tenure-track faculty member engaged in independent research activities.

Deanne Unruh, College of Education
A senior research associate in the College of Education, Unruh conducts research examining the facility-to-community transition process for adolescents in the juvenile justice system, development and validation of transition-related measures, and post-school outcomes for youth with disabilities.

2015 Impact and Innovation Award

Recognizes contributions by faculty and staff from all academic disciplines for outstanding entrepreneurial activity that has resulted in innovations with a measurable societal or environmental impact.

Science and Memory
A climate change reporting project with a dual mission of producing compelling stories about data and the human experience and providing students with research and creative opportunities in the field. The faculty team members include Mark Blaine, Torsten Kjellstrand, Dan Morrison and Deborah Morrison.

SupraSensor Technologies
A startup company spun out of UO research in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, SupraSensor created a wireless nitrate-sensing soil sampler that is helping reduce the estimated $2.4 billion per year that farmers waste due to the overapplication of nitrate-based fertilizers. The faculty team members include Darren Johnson and Mike Haley.