Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards go to 14 UO professors

Fourteen tenured faculty members at the University of Oregon have been selected to receive the Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards for the 2013-2014 academic year.

Each recipient will be awarded $20,000 in recognition for his or her research, teaching and leadership.

“The Fund for Faculty Excellence is designed to further the university's strategic commitment to improve its academic quality and reputation by recognizing, supporting and retaining world-class, tenure-related faculty,” UO Senior Vice President and Provost Jim Bean wrote in an email earlier this month.

“The recipients of this honor have been chosen on the basis of scholarly impact within their respective fields, their contributions to program and institutional quality at the UO, and their academic leadership,” Bean said.

A panel of senior faculty worked with the provost to choose recipients from the nominees recommended by academic deans. Awards were restricted to tenured faculty, with an emphasis on recently promoted associate and full professors.

Recipients of the Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards for 2013-2014 are:

  • Adell Amos, Law
  • Juliet (Jill) Baxter, education studies
  • Jonathan Brundan, mathematics
  • William Cresko, biology
  • Michael Hames-Garcia, ethnic studies
  • Jennifer Howard-Grenville, management
  • Mary Jaeger, classics
  • Nico Larco, architecture
  • Mark Lonergan, chemistry
  • Kate Mondloch, history of art & architecture
  • Carol Silverman, anthropology
  • Jeffrey Stolet, music
  • Anita Weiss, international studies
  • Richard York, sociology

- by Chloe Huckins, UO Office of Strategic Communications intern