Graduate School announces this year's 10 Raymund fellows

Susan Campbell Hall

Ten UO graduate students are recipients of this year’s Raymund fellowships, which provide financial aid to top students seeking doctoral degrees.

This is the second class of Raymund fellows following the establishment of the awards last year by UO alumnus Steven Raymund. 

The new Raymund fellows span a range of academic disciplines, from anthropology to school psychology and many areas in between. The students are from two professional schools and all three divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences.

They were previously students everywhere, from Puerto Rico to Tennessee to New York to California. They are accomplished researchers who have collected marine data from deep water dives, studied implicit bias against students who stutter and pondered the philosophy of decolonial thought. 

To become a fellow, students go through a competitive nomination and review process. Departments with doctoral programs first nominate the top doctoral applicants they would most like to recruit. An interdisciplinary faculty committee then selects the recipients, who receive a living stipend as well as funding to cover tuition, fees and insurance.

In addition, the students also are invited to take part in enrichment activities that include opportunities to present their research, take part in interdisciplinary conversations and meet their benefactor. 

This year’s fellows are: 

  • Tanner Anderson, anthropology.
  • Taylor Boothby, school psychology.
  • Jessica Canfield, marketing.
  • Luis Fernando Guzman Nateras, computer and information science.
  • Alexis Klimasewski, earth sciences.
  • Rosa O'Connor Acevedo, philosophy.
  • Tabitha Pearson, management.
  • Moriah Stendel, psychology.
  • Laurel Sturgis O'Coyne, comparative literature.
  • Ross Whippo, biology.