SOJC announces new members of the Hall of Achievement

The UO School of Journalism and Communication has announced the 2015 Hall of Achievement inductees, who will be honored for their contributions and accomplishments in their professions and their communities.

This year’s inductees include alumna Gayle Forman who wrote the New York Times bestselling novel “If I Stay.” The Hollywood film based on her book starred Chloë Grace Moretz.

UO alumnus Rick Attig, who won a Pulitzer Prize for editorials at The Oregonian that sparked Oregon policies outlawing open field burning and enhancing children’s health care, is another new member of the hall.

Former Dean Arnold Ismach, who died in January, also is being honored. He assisted the school during its transition to online media and directed the Oregon Association of Broadcasters and the Oregon Newspaper Association.

Robert X. Fogarty is this year’s recipient of the Eric Allen Outstanding Young Alumnus Award, which is given to alumni under the age of 40. Fogarty is the founder of the photography project Dear World and the cofounder of, a non-profit that prepares New Orleans residents for evacuations.

The Hall of Achievement ceremony will be held Oct. 30. More information about the event and inductees can be found the School of Journalism and Communication website.

―By Corinne Boyer, Public Affairs Communications intern