University Senate names six 2018 award recipients

Relief carving of intertwined UO

On Wednesday, May 23, the University Senate voted to make the following awards:

Wayne T. Westling Award: Frances J. White, professor and department head, anthropology; senator; member of the Senate Executive Committee; co-chair of the Academic Council; and chair, UO Committee on Courses.

This award is given for exemplary service to the university over a period of years through participation in university committees, advisory bodies or faculty elective positions and for inspired leadership and commitment to the principles of shared governance, participatory decision-making and fostering a campus climate of inclusiveness and respect.

Classified Staff Leadership Award: Jimmy Murray, technology specialist and student coordinator, Price Science Commons, Knight Library; former senator; former member of the Library Committee; member of the Senate Executive Committee; and member of the UO Board of Trustees.

This award recognizes an individual who has been a leader in one or more of the following categories: promoting the personal and professional development of classified staff in all areas of education, culture and international awareness; cultivating and building respect and recognition for classified employees in order to create a more supportive and respectful workplace environment; or embracing and respecting the differences in each of us, upholding the principles of equality of opportunity and freedom from unfair discrimination, and encouraging an open system of accountability and transparency in university operations.

Leadership and Service Award for Officers of Administration: Teri Lynn Rowe, manager of finance and administration for the Departments of Economics and Sociology; member of the Senate Executive Committee; former member of the Faculty Advisory Council; and former member of the Officers of Administration Council.

This award requires exemplary service over a period of years to the university through participation in committees, advisory bodies or elected positions and inspired leadership and commitment to the principles of shared governance, participatory decision making and fostering a campus climate of inclusiveness, respect and professional excellence.

Shared Governance, Transparency, and Trust Award: The Senate is presenting this award to three individuals this year — Monique Rodrigues Balbuena, associate professor, Clark Honors College; senator; and member of the Policy Advisory Council; Britt Johnson, senior instructor, American English Institute, and member of the Traffic Appeals Board; and Kenny Jacoby, reporter for the Palm Beach Post, former reporter for the Oregon Daily Emerald and recent UO graduate.

This award represents the Senate’s interest in encouraging the proliferation of trust, transparency and shared governance with the university administration. It is given to the administrator or other member of the UO community who has best exemplified the values of trust, transparency and shared governance during the year.

All four awards will be presented at the final Senate meeting of the academic year Wednesday, June 6, in the Erb Memorial Union’s Redwood Auditorium. Colleagues and friends of the recipients are invited to attend.

The meeting begins at 3 p.m. with the Senate working through a few business items, including election of a new vice president and president-elect. The awards presentation will occur from about 3:30-4:30 p.m., followed by a reception from about 4:45-5:15 p.m.

Those who wish to continue the celebration have been invited to do so at the Faculty Club in the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art.