UO Senate opens nominations for leadership and service awards

2018 Senate award recipients

The University Senate is now accepting nominations for its annual leadership and service awards.

Nominations for these awards will be accepted through Tuesday, April 30. The four awards will be presented during a formal ceremony at the June 5 meeting of the University Senate. The awards are:

  • The UO Senate Award for Shared Governance, Transparency and Trust, given to an administrator or member of the UO community who best exemplifies the principles the award is named for during the past year.
  • The Wayne T. Westling Award is named in honor of Wayne T. Westling, UO professor of law from 1979-2001. It is given to a faculty or staff member for outstanding and long-term leadership and service to the university.
  • The UO Senate Classified Staff Leadership Award, given to a classified employee who is a leader in one or more of the following areas: personal and professional development, a respectful work environment or diversity. Nominees must have made a difference through their actions and through collaborative relationships.
  • The UO Senate Leadership and Service Award for Officers of Administration, given for outstanding leadership and exemplary service by an officer of administration over a period of years. Nominees must be committed to shared governance and participatory decision-making, and must foster inclusiveness, respect and professional excellence.

Members of the campus community may submit nominations for any of the awards. Nominations should be sent to senatecoordinator@uoregon.edu.

Instructions about who is eligible and what to include with nominations are located on the Senate website.