UO Senate opens nominations for leadership and service awards

Image of trophy on laptop screen

The University Senate is now accepting nominations for its annual leadership and service awards.

Nominations for the awards will be accepted through Friday, April 24. The four awards will be presented during a formal ceremony at the June 10 meeting of the University Senate. The awards are:

  • The UO Senate Award for Shared Governance, Transparency and Trust is given to an administrator or member of the UO community who has best exemplified the principles of shared governance, transparency and trust during the past year.
  • The Wayne T. Westling Award is the highest award the University Senate gives for university service and shared governance and is named in honor of Westling, a UO professor of law from 1979-2001. It is given to a faculty or staff member for outstanding and long-term leadership and service to the university.  
  • The UO Senate Classified Staff Leadership Award recognizes a classified employee who is a leader in one or more of these areas: personal and professional development, respectful work environment, or diversity. Nominees must have made a difference through their actions and through collaborative relationships.
  • The UO Senate Leadership and Service Award for Officers of Administration recognizes the outstanding leadership and exemplary service of an officer of administration over a period of years. Nominees must be committed to shared governance and participatory decision-making and must foster inclusiveness, respect and professional excellence.  

Members of the campus community may submit nominations for any of the awards. Nominations should be sent to senatecoordinator@uoregon.edu.

Instructions about who is eligible and what to include with the nominations are located on the University Senate website.