UO's 2013 MLK Awards and inaugural MLK essay winners announced

The Office of Equity and Inclusion has announced winners of the inaugural Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Essay Contest and winners of the University of Oregon's 2013 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Awards.

In this first year of the essay contest, materials were solicited from undergraduate and graduate students in two categories: written and video essays.

“We were delighted with the response to the first annual OEI essay contest,” said Vice President Yvette Alex-Assensoh. “The essays showed a deep appreciation of the life and work of Dr. King and how his teachings apply to our community.”

The essay contest winners are:

Undergraduate Student Category

First place, Eva Bertoglio

Second place, Justin Daniels

Third place, Chynna Miley

Graduate Student Category

First place, Tori Taylor

Second place, Danielle Seid

Third place, Abhinav Vats

Video Category:

Polly Irungu

The UO's 2013 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Award winners have also been selected. The awards recognize university classified staff, faculty and officers of administration whose contributions to the campus community, beyond typical job expectations, also uphold and exemplify ideals supported by Martin Luther King, Jr. 

This year’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards winners were selected based on nominations from campus colleagues.

The winners are:

Professor H. Leslie Steeves, School of Journalism and Communication

Julie Dewsnup, University Health Center

Tim McMahon, Center on Diversity and Community, and Holden Center

Peg Rees, Physical Education and Recreation

Gail Unruh, Teaching and Learning Center

Lorri Nelson, Department of Landscape Architecture

Robin Seloover, Department of Landscape Architecture

UO President Michael Gottfredson will present the awards to recipients at the Dr. King Award luncheon in the EMU Ballroom on Thursday, Jan. 24, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. The award ceremony and luncheon are free and open to all members of the campus community. The Duck Store has donated prizes for the essay contest award winners.