This year's Faculty Research Awards go to 10 UO scholars

Ten UO researchers and scholars whose work focuses on subjects including digital stewardship, pulmonary hypertension and literature in imperial China have received 2022 Faculty Research Awards.

Distributed annually by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation, Faculty Research Awards support scholarship, creative projects and quantitative or qualitative research from all disciplinary backgrounds.

“I congratulate all the 2022 awardees, who include faculty from across this institution and in all career phases,” said Cass Moseley, interim vice president for research and Innovation. “In particular, I’m very pleased with the diversity and quality of projects selected.”

Award recipients represent the fields of anthropology, Asian American studies, Chinese literature, cinema studies, digital scholarship, education policy and leadership, human physiology, geography, interior architecture, journalism, and music.

The 2022 Faculty Research Award recipients are:

  • Michael Aronson, associate professor, Department of Cinema Studies, “Klan Mouse: The Birth of a Nation Redux and White Cultural Nationalism in the 1920s Pacific Northwest.”
  • Maram Epstein, professor, Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, “Women’s Novels as an Affective Archive in Late Imperial China.”
  • Abigail Fine, assistant professor, Department of Academic Music, “Sacred Traces: Composers, Relics and Art-Religion in Practice.”
  • Lynn Fujiwara, associate professor, Department of Indigenous, Race and Ethnic Studies, “Queering Asian American Feminisms: The Sexual Politics of Representation in Resistance.”
  • Andrew Lovering, professor, Department of Human Physiology, “Is SCUBA Diving-Induced Pulmonary Hypertension Related to Blood Flow Through Patent Foramen Ovale and Inflammation?”
  • Solmaz Mohammadezadeh Kive, assistant professor, Department of Interior Architecture, “Before Islamic Art.”
  • Danny Pimentel, assistant professor, School of Journalism and Communication, “Vanport AR.”
  • Xiaobo Su, professor, Department of Geography, “Unhomely Life: Modernity, Mobilities and the Making of Home in China.”
  • Kate Thornhill, associate librarian, Digital Scholarship Services, “Digital Stewardship on the Oregon Coast: Curation and Preservation Capacities and Infrastructures at Small Cultural Heritage Organizations.”
  • Ilana Umansky, associate professor, Department of Educational Methodology, Policy and Leadership, “A 50-State Review of Policies for Identifying Indigenous Students as English Learner Students.”

Faculty members receive up to $7,000 for research expenses during the coming fiscal year, to be spent on travel, equipment, supplies, contractual services, graduate or undergraduate student effort, shared facility use, or stipends during the summer months.

Award applications were open to all tenure-track faculty members as well as full-time, non-tenure-track faculty members engaged in substantial research. A committee of UO faculty members appointed by the University Senate provided peer review of the merit of the proposals and furnished their recommendations and rankings to the interim vice president for research and innovation.