School of Journalism and Communication

Portrait of Kate Rohrich, class of 2016
May 31

Graduate Profile: Kate Rohrich

"I’ve learned that the things that make you different and that you’re passionate about are some of the best things you have to offer to the world." — Meet Kate...
Poster for panel discussion
May 30

Panel discussion will focus on how to promote research

The June 3 panel will explore ways to get research in front of a wider audience
President Michael Schill and others walking across campus to deliver an award.
May 25

Nine outstanding faculty members receive UO's highest teaching honors

The Herman and Ersted awards are given annually to recognize excellence in teaching
Seth Lewis
May 16

Seth Lewis joins SOJC as Shirley Papé Chair in Electronic Media

Lewis sat down for a Q&A session on his new role in the School of Journalism and Communication
Ta-Nehisi Coates (Photo: Gabriella Demzuk)
May 10

Ta-Nehisi Coates to be the SOJC’s 2017 Ruhl Lecturer

Coates’ lecture will address the systemic racism and racist policies that have been inseparable from the growth of the nation
May 9

Outstanding advisors to be celebrated at reception

The UO's top two campus advisors were selected from a field of almost 200 nominees.
Shorebird on the Copper River delta
May 6

MediaShift spotlights SOJC climate program in Alaska

The Science and Memory Project teaches students how to report on complex topics in science
UO advertising professor Deborah Morrison
May 5

Today's graduates embrace multiple job titles, UO prof says

Deb Morrison calls for ad agencies to embrace a new trend away from single-subject job descriptions
Juan-Carlos Molleda
April 28

Florida prof and department chair is new SOJC Edwin L. Artzt Dean

Juan-Carlos Molleda chairs the Department of Public Relations and is part of the Center for Latin American Studies.
Polly Irungu looking through a camera lens
April 20

UO student selected for multimedia fellowship

Polly Irungu, a senior journalism major, will receive an all-expense-paid fellowship to Washington, D.C.