Employee awards, honors and accolades for spring term 2022

June 14 – Emily Henkelman, an adviser in the School of Journalism and Communication, received the Excellence in Advising – New Advisor award from NACADA, an association of professional advisors, counselors, faculty, administrators and students working to enhance the educational development of students. She was recognized at the Region 8 conference, which includes Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington and Yukon.

June 7 – John Arroyo, assistant professor in the College of Design School of Planning, Public Policy and Management was named a 2022-23 Public Engagement Fellow by the Whiting Foundation. The award recognizes faculty in the humanities who embrace public engagement. Arroyo was awarded a $50,000 grant to create a series of short documentary films on the history and housing of migrant Latinx workers in Oregon.

May 20 – Christopher Hendon, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry, was recognized as a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar. The award is given to scientists who demonstrate leadership in research and education. Hendon was recognized for "Hydrogen Atom Transfer Catalysis in Earth-Abundant Metal-Organic Frameworks" and received an unrestricted $100,000 research grant.

May 17 – Two furniture pieces designed by Cory Olsen, assistant professor of interior architecture in the College of Design were selected by WantedDesign Manhattan and featured this month at the International Contemporary Furniture Fair in New York City. “Squall Stool,” designed with associate professor Linda Zimmer, was constructed from reclaimed cross-laminated timber and milled using a robotic arm. It is part of a research grant through the Tallwood Design Institute. The second piece is “Twist Table.”

May 17 – Michael Fakhri, professor of law, addressed the United Nations Security Council meeting on conflict and hunger on April 21. Fakhri, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food, discussed the interconnectedness of food crisis, global conflicts and market failures

April 21 – Garrett Hongo, professor of creative writing, has been recognized with the 2022 Aiken Taylor Award by The Sewanee Review. The award is given each year to a distinguished modern American poet. Hongo will be honored and read his work at a celebration this fall at the University of the South.

March 21 – Leilani Sabzalian, assistant professor of education and codirector of the Sapsikwala (Teacher) Education Program, was named one of 35 Influential American Indian Scholars by Academic Influence, a website that provides rankings by academics and data scientists. Her research focuses on supporting Indigenous students and preparing teachers to challenge colonialism in curriculum, policy and practice.

Each term Around the O Workplace will recognize awards, honors and other professional recognition of University of Oregon faculty, staff, and graduate employees. Submissions should be short and include a link to the award website.