College of Arts and Sciences celebrates excellence in research and teaching

Karen McPherson, an associate French professor, was honored for a research fellowship
Karen McPherson, an associate French professor, was honored for a research fellowship

Fifty-four faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences were recognized Feb. 17 for achievement at the international, national and university level, during a dean’s reception honoring excellence in research and teaching.

“When I think of the work that is done, I cannot help but have a lift in spirits,” said Interim Dean W. Andrew Marcus, who presided. “Applaud yourselves – you’re great! Way to go!”

Departments in the college periodically undergo review from external colleagues in the same fields, to ensure a healthy balance of scholarship, research, curriculum and staffing. Invariably, Marcus said, they’re amazed by the performance of CAS faculty despite limited resources.

During the first joint reception with the Robert D. Clark Honors College, honorees were recognized for 33 awards received since Feb. 21, 2013. They included: 


  • Peter Lambert, Economics, Outstanding Author Contribution Award, Emerald Literati Network


  • Veronica Alfano, English, Joseph R. Dunlap Memorial Fellowship, William Morris Society United States
  • Kevin Butler, Computer and Information Science; Mark Carey, Clark Honors College; Eric Corwin, Physics; CAREER Award, National Science Foundation
  • Jon Erlandson, Anthropology, Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Sierra Dawson, Human Physiology; Eleanor Vandegrift, Science Literacy Program and Biology; Fellow, National Academy of Education
  • John Bellamy Foster, Sociology, Outstanding Publication Award, American Sociological Association
  • Jessica Green, Biology, Fellow, Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
  • W. Andrew Marcus, Geography; James Meacham, Geography; Alethea Steingisser, Geography; Best of Show Award, Cartography and Geographic Information Society, and Publication Award, Wyoming State Historical Society
  • Alexander Murphy, Geography, Lifetime Achievement Award, Association of American Geographers
  • Eileen Otis, Sociology, Distinguished Book Award, American Sociological Association
  • Geri Richmond, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award, Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh
  • Stephen Shoemaker, Religious Studies, Member, Institute for Advanced Study, and Fellowship, National Humanities Center
  • Carol Silverman, Anthropology, Alan Merriam Prize, Society for Ethnomusicology
  • Josh Snodgrass, Anthropology; Tom Stevens, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Xiaobo Su, Geography, Asia Studies Fellowship, East-West Center
  • Marsha Weisiger, History, Fellowship, National Endowment for the Humanities
  • Wes Wilson, Economics, Distinguished Member Award, Transportation and Public Utilities Group
  • Maureen Zalewski, Psychology, Victoria S. Levin Award, Society for Research in Child Development


  • Mark Alfano, Philosophy, RIGE Completion Award, Oregon Humanities Center
  • Mark Carey, Clark Honors College, Early Research Career Award, Office for Research, Innovation, and Graduate Education, and Faculty Excellence Award, Center for Multicultural Academic Excellence
  • Colin Koopman, Philosophy, Resident Scholar, Wayne Morse Center, and Research Fellowship, Oregon Humanities Center, and Summer Stipend Nominee Award, Office for Research, Innovation, and Graduate Education
  • Gina Herrmann, Romance Languages; Karen McPherson, Romance Languages; Ernest G. Moll Research Fellowship in Literary Studies, Oregon Humanities Center
  • Gordon Sayre, English, Outstanding Research Career Award, Office for Research, Innovation, and Graduate Education
  • Jon Brundan, Mathematics; William Cresko, Biology; Michael Hames-Garcia, Ethnic Studies; Mary Jaeger, Classics; Mark Lonergan, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Carol Silverman, Anthropology; Anita Weiss, International Studies; Richard York, Sociology; Fund for Faculty Excellence Award, University of Oregon
  • William Ayres, Anthropology; Martha Bayless, English; James Crosswhite, English; Andre Djiffack, Romance Languages; Hans Dreyer, Human Physiology; Pedro García-Caro, Romance Languages; Kaori Idemaru, East Asian Languages and Literatures; Lamia Karim, Anthropology; Tyler Kendall, Linguistics; Kari Norgaard, Sociology; Raghuveer Parthasarathy, Physics; Roxann Prazniak, Clark Honors College; Courtney Thorsson, English; Nelson Ting, Anthropology; Marsha Weisiger, History; Faculty Research Award, Office for Research, Innovation, and Graduate Education


  • Colin Koopman, Philosophy, Ersted Award for Distinguished Teaching, University of Oregon
  • Richard York, Sociology, Thomas F. Herman Award, University of Oregon
  • Bonnie Mann, Philosophy; Michael Stern, German and Scandinavian Studies; Williams Fellowship, University of Oregon

- from the College of Arts and Sciences