Employee awards, honors and accolades for summer term 2020

July 21 – Frank Vignola, senior research associate in the Materials Science Institute, has received the Charles Greeley Abbot Award from the American Solar Energy Society. The award is given each year to someone who has made a significant contribution in the field of solar energy. Vignola is the director of the UO’s Solar Radiation Monitoring Lab, which provides solar resources data for planning, design, deployment and operation of solar electric facilities in the Pacific Northwest.

Each term Around the O Workplace will recognize awards, honors and other professional recognition of University of Oregon faculty, staff, and graduate employees. Submissions should be brief and include a link to the award website.