Nominations now open for the Distinguished Teaching Awards

Crystal apple

It’s time again to celebrate faculty members who have contributed to an engaging, inclusive and research-led teaching practice at the University of Oregon.

Nominations are open for Distinguished Teaching Awards. The awards are the university’s highest teaching honors and are given to current career instructional and tenure-related faculty members.

Nominations are due by Feb. 15 and should be submitted through an online survey.

“Rarely do research universities value teaching excellence or promote effective teaching practices as UO does,” said Gabe Paquette, vice provost for academic affairs. “This honored tradition of recognizing and celebrating exceptional teachers with the Ersted and Herman teaching awards speaks to the university's dedication to maintaining the highest standard for teaching.”

The Distinguished Teaching Awards include:

  • Ersted Award for Distinguished Teaching: Recognizes excellence in teaching by faculty members early in their careers. Recipients receive a permanent $2,000 salary increase and a $2,000 award.
  • Ersted Award for Specialized Pedagogy: Recognizes faculty members early in their careers who have demonstrated exceptional teaching abilities and who have expertise in a particular area of teaching. Recipients receive a $5,000 award.
  • Herman Faculty Achievement Award: Honors senior career instructional or tenure-track faculty members who have achieved outstanding records as teachers. Recipients receive a permanent $2,000 salary increase and a $2,000 award.
  • Herman Award for Specialized Pedagogy: Honors senior faculty members with a focused area of teaching for their outstanding achievement. Recipients will receive a $5,000 award.
  • Herman Award for Outstanding Online Education: Recognizes faculty members at any stage of their careers who have demonstrated innovation and creativity in implementing excellent learning experiences using the online or hybrid format. Recipients will receive a $5,000 award.

Awardees will be selected by a committee of career instructional and tenure-track faculty members. The Office of the Provost convenes the committee and administers the process.

Along with the financial award, four marble apples and two crystal apples will be distributed to the winners as a token of appreciation for their dedication to excellence in the classroom. Recipients have the added treat of having their awards presented to them during a class or in a meeting.

Information about the Distinguished Teaching Awards can be found on the Office of the Provost website.