Sustainability Awards recognize contributions across campus

Sustainability Award

This spring University of Oregon honored the work of individuals and teams across campus and in the community during the annual UO Sustainability Awards. These awards celebrate work in sustainability across a range of institutional activities.

Each winner receives recognition at the annual awards ceremony, a physical award sustainably made by a local business, and a video overview of their winning work. This year’s winners are:

  • Town and Gown: Mark Carey and Kathy Lynn for their work organizing the Climate Change and Indigenous Peoples initiative. Sponsored by Government and Community Relations.
  • Campus Design: Moira Kiltie, Robert Guldberg and Patrick Phillips for the first building of the Phil and Penny Knight Campus for Accelerating Scientific Impact. Sponsored by Campus Planning and Design and Construction.
  • Student Leadership: The student employees of the PNW Just Futures Institute: Ashia Ajani, Rose Poton, Polet Campos-Melchor, Jesse Noone, Nadya Barba Ramirez, Rachael Sol Lee, Janice Kai Chen, Maya Revell, Iliana Lang Lundgren and Katherine Marple. Sponsored by the Student Sustainability Center.
  • Sustainable Purchasing: CPFM Custodial Services for increasing use of "green" chemicals and implementation of a managed inventory system. Sponsored by Purchasing and Contracting Services.
  • Research and Scholarship: Theresa May, Department of Theatre Arts. Sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.
  • Innovation and Impact: Alexandra Rempel, Environmental Studies Program. Sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.
  • Sustainable Campus: Scot Campbell for championing the transition to renewable diesel for the campus fleet. Sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Finance and Administration.
  • Sustainable Student Programming and Support: The Erb Memorial Union Craft Center for takeaway craft kits and other innovations during the COVID-19 pandemic to engage and support students. Sponsored by the Division of Student Life.
  • Excellence in Teaching: Galen Martin, Environmental Studies Program and Department of Global Studies, and Alaí Reyes-Santos, School of Law. Sponsored by the Teaching Engagement Program in the Office of the Provost.
  • Green Athletics: First Student bus service for providing shuttle transportation that reduces the use of single-passenger vehicles to Duck games. Sponsored by University Athletics.

The UO Sustainability Awards are managed and hosted by the Office of Sustainability.