UO professors honored with Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards

Fourteen faculty members have been chosen as recipients of the 2015-16 Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards in recognition of their research, teaching and leadership.

Recipients receive a one-time salary stipend of $20,000 or may elect to take the award as research funds of $25,000. The awards honor tenured UO faculty at the forefront of research and discovery who have demonstrated academic excellence and world-class teaching.

“The recipients of this honor have been chosen on the basis of scholarly impact within their respective fields, their contributions to program and institutional quality at the UO, and their academic leadership,” acting Provost Frances Bronet wrote in an email announcing the awards.

This year’s Fund for Faculty Excellence award winners are:

Brendan Bohannan, biology
Stuart Chinn, law
Alexandre Dossin, piano and piano literature
Scott Fitzpatrick, anthropology
David Frank, rhetoric
Mark Gillem, architecture
Marina Guenza, chemistry
Colin Koopman, philosophy
Lauren Lindstrom, family and human services
Gabriela Martinez, journalism
Christopher Murray, special education
Anne Parmigiani, management
Kim Sheehan, advertising
Douglas Toomey, geological sciences

More information on the awards and the winners is available on the Fund for Faculty Excellence website.

Nominations for the awards are forwarded by academic deans and reviewed by a committee of distinguished faculty colleagues, which provides recommendation to the provost.

This year’s committee members were Karen Guillemin, biology; Michael Hames-Garcia, ethnic studies; Mary Jaeger, classics; Alison Kwok, architecture; and Laura Lee McIntyre, chair, school psychology.

The awards were created in 2006 thanks to a gift to the university from Lorry I. Lokey.