UOPD recognizes lifesavers and swears in Onyx the dog

Police dog Onyx

A local woman and man are alive thanks to help from University of Oregon and Eugene police, actions that were honored recently at the annual UOPD awards ceremony at the Ford Alumni Center’s Giustina Ballroom.

Officer Troy Phillips, Cpl. Adam Lillengreen, Sgt. Bo Macovis and Eugene Police Sgt. Mike Ware provided lifesaving medical help to a woman experiencing a drug overdose in the parking lot of 125 E. Eighth Ave. on Oct. 13, 2017. In another situation, Officer Steven Barrett provided lifesaving first aid to a man who had been hit by a car on Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard on April 6.

Recognition for outstanding service and partnership went to graduating UO senior Kylan Carlson, one of police Chief Matt Carmichael’s student assistants, for innovation in coordinating the new UO Campus Shuttle program in 2018; Kerry Frazee, the UO's director of prevention and education, for help in launching and funding the UO Campus Shuttle; and UO student Janel Bond, for innovation in developing an education and intervention program for local bars to prevent sexual assault.

Also honored were Sgt. Scott Geeting for his work as a liaison with the UO's Fraternity and Sorority Life program; Sgt. Glen Kostiuk for his work with intercollegiate athletics; Officer Zack Hermens for his care and outreach to the homeless community; Lillengreen for his work as a drug recognition expert; Royce Myers, property and evidence technician, for outstanding community service; and Officer John Loos for mentorship of a local high school student.

The event also featured the formal swearing-in of the UOPD's new K9 officer, Onyx, and recognition of several department promotions from recent months, including James Stegall to director of security and special events, Jared Davis to police sergeant, Chris Phillips to police sergeant, Ashley McCrae to manager of Safe Ride and Designated Driver Shuttle, Sarah Shields to communications officer in dispatch, Rachel Dale to department executive coordinator, and Robert Ewing, Curtis Ewing, Nathan Diamond, Mohamed Mounir and Carol Lawton to community service officers.