Celebrating CSWS 40th with the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship

As part of the Center for the Study of Women in Society’s 40th Anniversary Celebration, the center is collaborating with the University of Oregon Knight Library and the Robert D. Clark Honors College to create the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship.

The fellowship also honors the role that Special Collections and University Archives played in the founding of CSWS.

The Knight Library houses the papers of authors Ursula K. Le Guin, Joanna Russ, Kate Wilhelm, Suzette Haden Elgin, Sally Miller Gearhart, Kate Elliot, Molly Gloss, Laurie Marks, and Jessica Salmonson, along with Damon Knight. SCUA is also in the process of acquiring the papers of James Tiptree, Jr. and other key feminist science fiction authors.

The intention of the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship is to encourage research within collections in the area of feminist science fiction. The award supports travel for the purpose of research on, and work with, the papers of feminist science fiction authors housed in the Knight Library.

The short-term research fellowships are open to undergraduates, master’s and doctoral students, postdoctoral scholars, college and university faculty at every rank, and independent scholars working in feminist science fiction.

In 2013, $3,000 will be awarded to conduct research within these collections. Applicants must submit by Sept. 1. For more information, visit the CSWS website.

- from the UO Office of Research, Innovation and Graduate Education