Four individuals honored with University Senate awards

Four individuals whose work in the past year contributed to the success of the university will be honored by the University Senate at a June 7 meeting in the Erb Memorial Union.

Each year, the Senate recognizes four people for their leadership and service through awards that highlight commitment to shared governance, leadership, transparency, respect and inclusion, professional development and collaboration.

The awards will be presented at the final University Senate meeting of the academic year Wednesday, June 7, in the EMU’s Crater Lake Rooms. The meeting begins at 3 p.m., and the awards are expected to be presented from about 3:30-4:30 p.m.

This year’s honorees are:

Wayne T. Westling Award: Jennifer J. Freyd, professor of psychology, senator and member of the Senate Executive Committee.

Shared Governance, Transparency, and Trust Award: Diane Dietz, former reporter for The Register-Guard, current reporter for the Statesman Journal in Salem.

Leadership and Service Award for Officers of Administration: Lisa Raleigh, director of development communications for the College of Arts and Sciences.

Classified Staff Leadership Award: Kurt Willcox, program assistant in the University Senate, member of the UO Board of Trustees.

Additional information about each of the awards and their criteria are available on the University Senate webpage.

Recipients will be introduced by the person who made the nomination and then will have the opportunity to offer their own remarks. After the installation of Chris Sinclair, associate professor of mathematics, as next year’s president of the Senate, a reception for the award recipients will be held about 4:45 p.m.

The Senate also invites those who wish to continue the celebration to do so following the meeting at the Faculty Club in the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art.